August 5, 2008

Stevens Institute of Technology Named ECAC Jostens Institution of the Year

CAPE COD, Mass. - Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner Rudy Keeling announced today that Stevens Institute of Technology has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 Jostens Institution of the Year award.  The award is given annually to the ECAC institution that best exemplifies the highest standards of collegiate academic and athletic performance.

The award will be presented on Sunday, September 28, at the ECAC Convention Honors Dinner presented by Jostens at the Albany Crowne Plaza.  Presenting the award will be Jim Dougher, Jostens National Sports Manager and long-time supporter of the ECAC.

The Jostens Institution of the Year Awards is based annually on participation and success of an institution's athletic program in recognition of the following selection criteria:

  • 1. Documentation and confirmation of academic success by the institution's student athlete population
  • 2. Number of ECAC championships won
  • 3. Number of institution's teams declaring and selected for participation in ECAC championships
  • 4. Number of institution's teams selected for participation in NCAA championships
  • 5. Institutional representation on ECAC selection and administrative committees
  • 6. Enrollment and participation of athletic department staff at the previous year's ECAC convention
  • 7. Enrollment in the ECAC's Officiating Payment Service
  • 8. Number of athletic programs enrolled in the ECAC Officiating Assignment Bureaus
  • 9. Number of ECAC championships hosted by an institution

"I speak on behalf of the entire Stevens community in saying that we are thrilled to receive this honor and recognition," said Director of Athletics Russell Rogers. "The Jostens award is a reflection not only of what our athletic program accomplished over the previous year, but of the commitment from our administration and hard work of our student-athletes and staff over the last several years as the department has undergone such a rapid period of growth. We look forward to building on this success as we strive to provide a first-class experience for each student-athlete on our campus."

Stevens is a member of the Empire 8 Conference, and offers 25 varsity sports to more than 2,000 undergraduate students.  The 2007-08 year was one of the most successful for Stevens, in particular with regard to ECAC championships, as four teams won ECAC titles. In the fall, the women's soccer team won the ECAC Division III Metro crown. The Ducks won two titles in the winter when both the men's and women's basketball teams dominated the hardwood and won ECAC Division III Metro titles. In the spring, the women's lacrosse team won the ECAC Division III South title. In total, Stevens tied with Williams and Carnegie Mellon for the most ECAC championships won during the 2007-08 season. However, the Ducks were selected to 11 ECAC championships and hosted five ECAC championships - both more than any other ECAC school.

A total of nine different teams were represented in the NCAA national or regional tournaments this past year - men's cross country, men's fencing, men's soccer, men's swimming, men's tennis, wrestling, women's cross country, women's fencing, and women's volleyball. For the second year in a row, the women's volleyball team was New York Regional champions of the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the national quarterfinals. The Ducks finished with an overall record of 36-5 and a national ranking of No. 19 by the American Volleyball Coaches Association. The men's soccer team reached the NCAA Tournament for the fifth-consecutive year, while the men's tennis team made its second-straight appearance.

Stevens sent three individuals to the NCAA national tournament in their respective sports. Brandon MacWhinnie became the first All-American in Stevens' wrestling history when he placed third in the country in the 174-lb. weight class. Lowden Charles reached the finals of the NCAA men's fencing championship, which marks the first-ever foilist to do so through 64 years at Stevens. Evan Wilson also became the first All-American for the men's swimming program as he finished 21st at the NCAA Championships in the 1,650-yard freestyle as a freshman.

Academically, Stevens produced eight CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District honorees in six different sports. Three student-athletes were named CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-Americans: women's soccer player Sara Roeder, and Michael Hoffman and John Hoffman of the men's cross country team. Roeder and Michael Hoffman were both first team selections and Roeder was part of the women's soccer team that won an NSCAA Academic Team Award for the fourth straight season.

About Jostens
Jostens was founded in 1897, and has since become a leader in providing products, programs, and services that help people celebrate important moments, recognize achievements, and build affiliations.  Based in Minneapolis, Jostens produces yearbooks, class rings, graduation products, school photography, and products for athletic champions and their fans.

About the ECAC®
The ECAC is the nation's largest athletic and the only multi-divisional conference in the country with 321 Divisions I, II, and III colleges and universities.  The ECAC stretches from Maine to North Carolina and westerly to Illinois. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors more than 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports and assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports.  The ECAC also administers eight affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues, and through the public relations arm of the conference, more than 2,500 student-athletes in 23 sports are recognized annually.  Finally, the ECAC serves as the primary conference for select members in the sports of men's and women's ice hockey and men's lacrosse.

Past Jostens Institution of the Year Recipients:
1995 - Williams College
1996 - Princeton University
1997 - Middlebury College
1998 - Princeton University
1999 - Williams College
2000 - Georgetown University
2001 - Williams College
2002 - University of Maryland, College Park
2003 - Harvard University
2004 - Williams College
2005 - Keene State College
2006 - New York University
2007 - Brandeis University