2013 ECAC Softball Exam

Instructions
Select each of your answers by click on the drop down options for each questions.
Do not hit the ENTER key on your keyboard at anytime during the exam.
Enter your name at the end of the exam.
Once complete with the exam and entering your name click the SUBMIT button.
Contact Mackenzie Larsen (mlarsen@ecac.org or 508-771-5060 ext. 217) if you have any difficulties with the exam.

Email address *
First name *
Last name *

1. F4 is blocking the base without the ball. R1 slides into F4 and is tagged out. Base Umpire calls R1 out, dead ball, obstruction on F4, and finally calls F4 safe.


a) True
b) False

Answer 1

2. B1 hits a long fly ball to deep left field. The ball hits the top of the fence, deflects off F6's glove, and then over the fense. The base umpire awards the batter-runner a two base hit.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 2

3. Team A takes the field and the base umpire notices that 4 players are wearing team caps while 4 are wearing team visors. The base umpire instructs the coach that visors and caps must not be mixed, and that 4 of those players must switch headgear.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 3

4. B1 hits a line drive past F3. The ball hit's the umpire in fair territory 10 feet past first base, and deflects into foul territory. The base umpire rules a dead ball, and awards B1 first base.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 4

5. B1 hits a fly ball to deep right field, and the base umpire chases the ball to watch for a potential play. The ball deflects off F9's glove over fair territory and then passes over the outfield fence in foul territory. The umpires should rule a double.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 5

6. Three umpire system, bases loaded. Responsibility for R1 leaving first base early rests with U1 (the first base umpire).

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 6

7. With a count of two balls and two strikes, a fastball strikes B1 while she's legally in her batter's box. The defensive team argues that she doesn't make any effort to avoid being hit by the pitch. The plate umpire awards a ball on the batter, and she resumes her position in the batter's box with a count of three balls and two strikes.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 7

8. Bat protocol for all NCAA Softball games:

  • Bat has ASA 2001 or 2004 certification seal:
  • Bat appears on the NCAA 2012 Approved Softball Bat List
  • Bat is suitable for play (no cracks or rattles);
  • Shall be marked OFFICIAL SOFTBALL by the manufacturer.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 8

9. R1 is hit by a fair batted ball while not in contact with a base and before it passes an infielder, excluding the pitcher, who has a reasonable chance to make a play. The base umpire allows the action to continue.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 9

10. After F1 who has taken her signal from F2 starts her delivery to B1, B1 steps out of the box, holds up her hand requesting time out. Upon seeing this, F1 stops her delivery. Plate umpire calls "no pitch" since both F1 and B1 have violated a rule.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 10

11. A runner who misses a base while advancing may not return to touch the missed base after a following runner has scored.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 11

12. When the ball is dropped by the pitcher before her hands have come together and then seperated, the ball is dead. There is no penalty. The base-runner(s) may not advance with liability to be put out.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 12

13. As the pitcher is taking her warm-up pitches prior to the start of the inning, B1 stands in the batters box to get a good look at the pitchers motion. The plate umpire instructs B1 to move away from the plate during warm-ups. B1 refuses to move. The plate umpire should call a strike on B1.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 13

14. Team A has been reduced to 9 eligible players. Leading 12-3 in the bottom of the 6th inning, B1 on team A turns her ankle after rounding first base on an outfield hit. She crawls safely back to first base, but is unable to stand without assistance, and her coach determines that she must leave the game. The game is declared a forfeit, and team B is awarded a 7-0 victory.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 14

15. F1 pitches a slow changeup to B1 which strikes her while standing in the batters box. She makes no attempt to get out of the way of the pitch. The umpire should declare a dead ball, and award first base to the batter.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 15

16.  F3 and F8 switch positions after one out in the second inning. Later in the same inning, the same two players may switch positions again.    


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 16

17. The following team personal are permitted outside their designated dugout/bench area: the batter; defensive players; the coach giving defensive signals; and the on-deck batter. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 17

18. The following result in an illegal pitch being called:

  • The pitcher stepping completely outside the 24 inch plate when delivering the ball
  • The catcher being outside her catcher's box when the pitch is released
  • The pitcher stepping backwards after her hands come together
  • A pitcher exceeding 20 seconds to release the pitc


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 18

19. The look-back rule is in effect when the ball is alive, the batter-runner has touched first base, the pitcher has possession and control of the ball within the pitcher's circle, and there are one or more runners on.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 19

20. With F1 in possession of the ball within her pitcher's circle, B2 who has overrun first base stops slowly walks back to first base, and then attempts to advance to second base. F4 who is blocking second base without the ball tags B2 out. The base umpire calls B2 out.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 20

21. R2 on Second base. B1 hits safely to the outfield and touches first base. F8 fields the ball and throws towards home as R2 rounds third base. The thrown ball is off-target, and hits an equipment box being used as a stool by the offensive team's coach. The box is positioned just in front of the opening to the team's dougout, on the field of play. U1 declares a dead ball, allows R2 to score, and awards B1 second base.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 21

22.R1 on first. B1 hits a ground ball to short, which is bobbled by F6, enabling both runners to advance safely. The ball is returned to the pitcher within the pitching circle with both runners standing two steps off their bases. After two seconds have gone by, neither runner has taken a step in either direction, the pitcher remains in control of the ball in the circle, and the pitcher has not atempted to make a play oneither runner. The umpires declare both runners out.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 22

23. B1, Sally Smit, wearing number #1 on her uniform, comes to bat with runners on second and third and one out. Before a pitch is thrown to B1, the offensive coach calls time and points out that the approved lineup care shows Ms. Smith as wearing number 24. B1 is declared out, and the lineup card is corrected. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 23

24. No outs, bases loaded. B1 squares to bunt, and pops up the ball into fair territory between the pitcher and the catcher. The pitcher raises her glove as if to make a catch, and then allows the ball to drop to the ground. She then picks up the ball and throws to home and third base to force R3 and R2. The plate umpire should not call an infield fly, and should rule the play legal. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 24

25. B1 hits a high fly ball over foul territory. F5 settles under the ball, with the tip of ther foot contacting the dead ball line as she makes the catch. The plate umpire declares a legal catch and an out. The ball is live and in play.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 25

26. At the pre-game meeting of coaches and officials, the home team is responsible for providing a minimum of twelve (12) new softballs meeting NCAA regulations. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 26

27.  One out, R1 and R3 on base. B1 hits a long fly ball to right, and both runners leave their bases before the ball is caught by F9. R1 reaches second, and R3 scores. F9 throws the ball to F3 who touches first base, and appeals that both R3 and R1 left the base early. The umpires should declare R1 and R3 out, and disallow the run. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 27

28. If a play is made with an illegal glove/mitt, the offensive coach has the choice of taking the result of the play or having the play nullified. If nullified, the batter returns to bat base runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the last pitch and play is resumed.


a) TRUE
b) FalSE

Answer 28

29.  In the top of second inning with the home team up by three runs, the visiting team discovers that the pitcher's plate is 46 feet from home plate. The coach of the visiting team requests that the pitcher's plate be moved forward to its correct position and that all runs scored by the home team not be counted. After both umpires confer, they decide to restart the game. Both teams agree, and the game is restarted. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 29

30. R1 is on first base and R2 is on second base. No out. Top of the fourth inning. AFter B3 repeatedly hits a series of line drives just out of the reach of F7, her coach repositions F7 in left so that she straddles the foul line. F1 pitches a ball to the batter. The plate umpire should call an illegal pitch, and advance R1 and R2.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 30

31. With 1 out in the third inning, the defensive coach calls time and speaks with the pitcher on the mound for roughly 30 seconds. When the plate umpire approaches the coach, he informs the umpire that he has decided to replace the pitcher. The new pitcher is allowed to warm up, and strikes out the next batter. Two outs. As the next batter approaches the plate, the coach calls time and starts to walk to the mound. The plate umpire should inform the coach that he cannot have an additional dffensive conference in this inning, and should eject the coach if he insists on meeting with his pitcher. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 31

32. The base umpire notices that one of Team A's fielders is wearing a blue bandanna under her regulation team cap. Because the bandanna matches team colors and is worn under a regulation cap, it is legal. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 32

33. In a half inning, the defense is entitled to one conference. Once it is used, one additional conference is allowed for each pitcher entered into the pitching position who has not yet pitched that inning. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 33

34. Bases loaded, two out, score tied. Top of the seventh inning. B1 hits a line drive deep to right field, and three runners cross home plate. When the ball is returned to the infield, F5 bobbles it, and B1 scores the fourth run of the inning. The defense now successfully appeals that R2 who started the inning on second base missed third base, resulting in the third out of the inning. The plate umpire should rule that the inning is over and only one run scores.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 34

35. After the plate umpire states "play ball", B1 with a count of three balls and two strikes is set in the batter's box, and F1 on the pitcher's plate, F1 takes 30 seconds to release the pitch. Plate umpire calls a strike on B1, striking out B1. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 35

36. R1 on first base, no outs. B1 enters the batters box with a non-approved bat, and is walked. The opposing coach then calls the non-approved bat to the plate umpire’s attention. The umpire should remove the non-approved bat from the game, call B1 out, eject B1 from the game, and return R1 to first base. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 36

37. B1 grounds out to F6 and is put out at first base. The ball is returned to F1, and B2 enters the batter’s box. F1 enters the pitching circle, and the plate umpire declares “pitch.” More than 10 seconds goes by, and F1 has not yet stepped on the pitcher’s plate. The plate umpire should declare an illegal pitch. 

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 37

38. Player #14 begins the game in the leadoff position, and plays second base. In the third inning, the coach removes her, and substitutes player #12 by informing the plate umpire. In the next inning, the coach informs the plate umpire that player #14 is re-entering the game. With one out and R3 on third in the top of the 6th inning, player #12 steps to the plate in the leadoff position. The first pitch to #12 is in the dirt allowing R3 to score from third base, th opposing coach calls time and informs the Plate Umpire that #12 is at bat instead of #14. The plate umpire should call #12 out, eject her from the game, and return R3 to third base.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 38

39.  At the pre-game conference, Team A coach submits a lineup card with 9 players in the batting order, and 5 substitutes. At the beginning of the second inning, she informs that plate umpire that she intends to add player #15 to the lineup as a Flex player, and will designate player #2 as DP. The plate umpire should note this in the lineup card, and inform the opposing coach and the official scorer. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 39

40. B1 bunts the ball along the first base line, and drops the bat. The ball rolls along the ground, and strikes the bat in fair territory, deflecting it into foul territory, where F3 picks it up. The umpire declares a foul ball. 


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 40

41. B2, Jill Jones, wearing #14 on her uniform, comes to bat in the seventh inning with runners on first and second base, two out, and with the score tied 4-4. After the second pitch thrown ot B2, the defense team calls time out and points out that the approved lineup card shows Ms. Jones as wearing #34. B2 is called out, and the lineup card can not be restored. Ms. Jones is disqualified to the bench.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 41

42. No outs, R1 at first and R2 at second. As the pitcher goes into her windup, both runners leave before the pitch is released. Their violations are called as delayed dead balls by U1 and U2. The pitch to the batter is a ball. Both runners are declared out.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 42

43. On the lineup card player #1 is listed as DP in the 9th batting position and player #2 is listed as Flex, in the 10th position. When the team takes the field on defense in the top of the first inning, player #1 is at first base, and player #2 is pitching. The opposing coach appeals stating that the DP and Flex cannot both be in the field at the same time. The plate umpire disagrees, and rules that it is legal for Flex and DP to play defense at the same time.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 43

44. F1 takes a signal from F2 with her hands apart while B1 is in the batter's box ready to hit. F1 brings her hands together then seperates them and drops the ball. The umpire should declare "No pitch."

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 44

45. Two out, R3 on third and R2 on second. B1 hits a line drive to the gap, both runners score. However, R3 misses home plate. After both runners have reached the dugout, the defense appeals the missed base. The umpire should declare R3 out, nullify both runs, and declare the inning over.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 45

46. Three umpire system no outs, no runners on base. B1 hits a high fly ball to dead centerfield. Neither U1 nor U3 breaks to the outfield to chase the ball. Responsibility for ruling on the catch belongs to the plate umpire.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 46

47. No outs, bases loaded. R1 leaves early on the pitch and the base umpire declares a delayed dead ball. B1 hits a ground ball to F4, who throws the ball to F6, forcing R1 at second. As F6 is about to throw to first, R1 remains on her feet and crashes into F6, preventing a throw. R3 does not score before the interference is called. The umpires should give the defensive coach the option of declaring no pitch and calling R1 out, or (option 2) of allowing the run to score while calling both B1 and R1 out because of R1's interference with an attempted double play.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 47

48. No outs, B1 grounds to F6, who throws the ball to F3. The throw is wide of the base and hits the first base coach, who is shouting instructions to B1. The umpire rules a live ball and allows play to continue.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 48

49. B1 hits a fly ball to deep righ field, and U1 chases the ball to watch for a potential play. The ball deflects off F9's glove over foul territory and then passes over the outfield fence in fair territory. The umpires should rule a home run.

a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 49

50. No outs, R1 on first and R2 on second. As F1 delivers the pitch, the base umpire notices that her pivot foot has left the ground and calls an illegal pitch. B1 hits the ball towards F4, but R1 bumps into the fielder and the base umpire now declares a dead ball and calls R1 out for interference. The offensive coach approaches the both umpires and asks for the illegal pitch penalty to be enforced nullifying the play. The umpires should nullify the interference, advance R1 to second base, and award a ball to B1.


a) TRUE
b) FALSE

Answer 50
 
There will be a $0.00 convenience fee to submit this online form.
* = required field